Best Stand Golf Bags of 2015 (Reviews)

by | October 29, 2015

Best Stand Golf Bags of 2015 (Reviews)

The following is a review of several highly-rated stand golf bags from reputable brands such as NikeOGIOTaylorMadeCallaway and others.

Scroll down to view the comparison chart! 

Below the comparison chart (which compares the prices, features, pros and cons), I will list the bags according to my personal rating from highest to lowest and talk about their features, benefits and overall reception.

Note that the golf bags that follow are stand bags, which have retractable legs that allow you to stand the bag up on its own canted or upright.  If you plan to predominantly use a riding or push cart on the course, you should look at other bag types like cart bags (for that, see this article).  Reviews and discussions of these other types of bags will eventually be posted to Golfstead, if they haven’t been already.

Want to view larger images of any of these bags?  Click on the pictures in the chart and navigate the photos on the left side!

Stand BagPrice on Amazon in USD (subject to change)Approximate WeightStrengths and WeaknessesAmazon Review RatingMy Rating
1. OGIO Grom

OGIOgrom
$167.20 (depends on colour) + free shipping6 lbsStrengths:
• full-length individual dividers keep clubs organized and unstuck
• bag is sturdy and well-made
• pockets are useful and are conveniently placed
• ball silo is a nice touch
• storage space is plentiful
• functions well as a cart bag
• carry straps are comfortable and easily removable

Weaknesses:
• expensive relative to other cart bags
• strap system adjustment can be a bit confusing
4.8/54.9/5
2. Nike Air Sport

nikeAirSport
$119.98 (depends on colour) + free shipping7 lbsStrengths:
• lightweight
• sharp appearance
• great construction
• pockets are secure and provide tons of useful storage space
• shoulder straps are comfortable
• great value for money

Weaknesses:
• club shafts can get tangled and stuck within the dividers
• cooler pocket could be a bit larger
4.7/54.8/5
3. Titleist 14-Way

titleist14way
$198.93 (depends on colour) + free shipping6.4 lbsStrengths:
• both light and sturdy
• quality is top-notch
• has tons of functional and convenient pockets
• 14-way top with some full-length dividers is a big plus
• towel loop and umbrella strap are a nice touch

Weaknesses:
• look may not be for everybody
• some want more pockets and external rings
4.9/54.8/5
4. Nike Sport Lite

nikeSportLite
$105.94 (depends on colour) + free shipping4 lbsStrengths:
• extremely lightweight
• suitable for women/teens/kids
• appearance is minimalistic and clean while still providing sufficient space
• price is relatively low

Weaknesses:
• not as many pockets and not quite as much space compared to other bags
• not as durable as other heavier bags
4.7/54.8/5
5. Callaway Hyper-Lite 5

callawayHyperLite5
$120.71 (depends on colour) + free shipping5.2 lbsStrengths:
• comfortable straps
• light and easy to carry
• slick look
• plenty of pockets and storage space
• clubs are easy to access

Weaknesses:
• not easy to access water bottle pocket while carrying
• stand legs have questionable durability and could fold more nicely
4.7/54.7/5
6. Callaway Fusion 14

callawayFusion5
$154.34 (depends on colour) + free shipping5.2 lbsStrengths:
• sturdy yet lightweight
• can be carried comfortably
• divider system is 14-way
• plenty of storage space

Weaknesses:
• no hooks or rings for towels/umbrellas
• not all of the dividers are full-length
• some people may find the bag a little fat and voluminous
4.3/54.7/5
7. TaylorMade Purelite

taylormadePurelite
$119.00 + free shipping5.5 lbsStrengths:
• comfortable to carry
• light yet solidly built at the same time
• stable legs extend easily
• pockets are useful and accessible
• umbrella sleeve and towel loop are a nice touch

Weaknesses:
• a few more pockets would have been nice
• club grips can interfere and rub within the dividers
4.5/54.6/5
8. Sun Mountain C-130S

sunC130S
$159.99 (depends on colour) + free shipping5.8 lbsStrengths:
• bag is lightweight without being flimsy
• quality construction
• tons of pockets and storage space
• clubs are easy to stow and keep separated

Weaknesses:
• bag is mainly designed for carts
• some may find the bag too voluminous
4.3/54.6/5

1. OGIO Grom Stand Bag (2015)

Price and where to buy:  Starts at $167.20 USD & eligible free shipping on Amazon (depends on colour, see chart for link), several colours at $229.99 USD on Global Golf

Features/Benefits:  The dual-strap bag weighs 6 pounds, comes with a rain hood, has a 1-year manufacturer’s warranty and the following features:OGIOgrom

  • a 14-way “Diamond Performance” 10″ stand top with an oversized putter pit and integrated front handle
  • 6 pockets (4 zippered)
  • a low-profile Zipperless Ball Pocket (ZPB) which is the ball-holding silo that can be seen on the front of the bag in the image
  • a weather-resistant fleece lined valuables pocket
  • a water bottle pocket, scorecard/rangefinder/GPS sleeve, and pen/divot tool sleeve
  • the SHOXX X4 full suspension system (equalizes load across shoulders for carrying), with advanced molded XX shoulder pads for added comfort

Reception:  This bag has received exceptional ratings; a 4.8/5 stars on Amazon with over 58 customer reviews, and a 4.6/5 rating (95% recommended) on the Dick’s Sporting Goods website.  People love the individual full-length dividers that keep clubs unstuck, the high quality sturdy build, light weight, very functional pockets (including an insulated pocket for beverages), comfort, and dual use as a cart bag.  Note that due to the quality, the bag is relatively expensive.
My rating:  4.9/5

2. Nike Air Sport Stand Bag

Price and where to buy:  Starts at $119.98 USD & eligible free shipping on Amazon (depends on colour, see chart for link), red/white colour for only $99.99 USD on Global Golf

Features/Benefits:  This stand bag weighs 7 pounds, includes a rain hood and features:nikeAirSport

  • an 8.5″ oval top with a 3 full-length, 8-way divider system
  • 9 functional pockets (6 zippered); among them a water-resistant fleece-lined valuables pocket, full-length apparel pocket, scorecard/pencil pocket, rangefinder/GPS loop, insulated cooler pocket and numerous accessory pockets
  • a durable, lightweight nylon construction with custom grip leg end caps
  • Nike EquaFlex Max Air curved revolving double-strap system
  • a ventilated air mesh back pad for carrying comfort

Reception:  Very positive — a 4.7/5 stars on Amazon (the #3 best selling stand bag there) with over 140 customer reviews, a 5/5 rating on Global Golf, and a 4.8/5 rating on the Dick’s Sporting Goods website.  Customers love the light weight, the sharp look, the solid construction, secure functional pockets, and ample storage space.  It’s a superb bag for the money.  Some have expressed discontent with the fact that the club shafts and grips can get tangled within the dividers, and some feel that the cooler pocket could be a bit larger.
My rating:  4.8/5

3. Titleist 14-Way Stand Bag (2015)

Price and where to buy:  Starts at $198.93 USD with free shipping on Amazon (depends on colour, see chart for link)

Features/Benefits:  This dual-strap nylon stand bag weighs 6.4 pounds, comes with a rain hood and features:titleist14way

  • an umbrella strap and an easily-accessible towel loop located on the top cuff
  • a 9″, 14-way top with 4 full-length dividers for club separation and protection
  • lift assist handles located on the top cuff and spine for increased maneuverability
  • a segmented air mesh hip pad for increased air flow
  • 11 pockets in total (3 open and 8 zippered); among them, a velour-lined valuables pocket with a weather-resistant zipper, an oversized garment pocket, ball pocket, scorecard pocket and an insulated beverage pocket
  • 4-point padded dual carry straps that provide optimum comfort and balance while carrying
  • a cart-friendly automatic stand assembly with a leg retention strap

Reception:  This bag has an average of 4.9/5 stars on Amazon and 5/5 stars on Global Golf.  People praise the light sturdiness, the wealth of pockets and storage, overall quality construction, 14-way design and the useful towel loop and umbrella strap.  Some customers, believe it or not, would like more pockets.
My rating:  4.8/5

4. Nike Sport Lite Stand Bag

Price and where to buy:  $99.99 USD at Global Golf, starts at $105.94 USD with free shipping on Amazon (depends on colour, see chart for link)

Features/Benefits:  This nylon stand bag has a Nike “EquaFlex” revolving double-strap system for added carrying comfort.  It weighs only 4 pounds, includes a rain hood and features:nikeSportLite

  • a 5-way, 2 full-length divider system with putter well for club organization
  • an 8.5-inch oval top
  • 6 functional pockets (5 zippered); among them, a fleece-lined valuables pocket (good for cell phones, etc.), glove patch, full-length apparel pocket, range finder/GPS loop, and an easy-access water bottle sleeve
  • a zip-off ball pocket
  • custom grip leg endcaps that provide stability when standing
  • a very lightweight and durable nylon construction with custom grip leg end caps

Reception:  Positive — a 4.7/5 stars on Amazon with over 58 customer reviews (the #18 best selling stand bag there), a 4.8/5 rating on Global Golf, and a 5/5 rating (100% recommended) on the official Nike website.  People love the extreme light weight and suitability for women/kids/teens, the classy and minimalistic look, and the low price in particular.  Some feel that the bag could be more durable, and others feel that the bag could be a bit more spacious and have a few more pockets.
My rating:  4.8/5

5. Callaway Hyper-Lite 5 Stand Bag (2015)

Price and where to buy:  Starts at $120.71 USD & eligible free shipping on Amazon (depends on colour, see chart for link), multiple colours at $129.99 USD on Global Golf

Features/Benefits:  This nylon stand bag weighs 5.2 pounds, includes a rain hood and features:callawayHyperLite5

  • a 5-way, full length, 9.5-inch “Club Divider Organization System” with an ergonomic molded handle
  • an “Xtra Traction Technology” base system that provides greater turf contact for added stability
  • non-slip foot pads that prevent sinking or slipping on the turf
  • an E-Trolley base system that integrates with many push carts
  • a soft mesh hip padding system that provides comfort, ventilation and support for the lower back
  • 8 pockets; among them a water resistant velour-lined valuables pocket with Key Fob, thermal-lined water bottle pocket, full-length apparel pocket, full-size ball pocket and four accessories pockets

Reception:  This bag has been very well received.  It’s currently the #2 best selling stand bag on Amazon.  It has a 4.7/5 stars on Amazon, a 4.5/5 rating (88% recommended) on the Dick’s Sporting Goods website and a 4/5 rating on the official Callaway website.  It is very lightweight, easy and comfortable to carry, it looks great, and has more than enough pockets and storage space.  A few have had problems with the durability and design of the stand legs.
My rating:  4.7/5

6. Callaway Fusion 14 Stand Bag

Price and where to buy:  $154.34 USD (for black/red/white colour scheme) & eligible free shipping on Amazon, $159.99 for others colours plus free tri-fold towel on Global Golf

Features/Benefits:  This nylon “Comfort Tech” dual-strap bag weighs 5.2 pounds and includes a matching rain hood.  It has the following features:callawayFusion5

  • a 10″ top with a 14-way, full-length club divider organization system
  • a “Redesigned Molded Handle
  • an E-Trolley base system that integrates with many push carts
  • the “Xtra Traction Technology” base system – flex activation with greater turf contact for extra stability
  • strap system that includes an ergonomic EVA foam core with soft mesh padding
  • 10 pockets; among them, a water resistant, velour-lined valuables pocket with Key Fob, a thermal-lined water bottle pocket, a full-length apparel pocket, a rangefinder/GPS pocket, a full-size ball pocket, 3 accessories pockets and 2 mesh utility pockets

Reception:  This bag, which made the Golf Digest hot list, has exceptional ratings — 4.3/5 stars on Amazon, 4.3/5 stars (100% recommended) on the official Callaway website, and 5/5 stars on the Dick’s Sporting Goods website.  It’s currently the #7 best selling stand bag on Amazon.  Customers love the sturdiness, hybrid stand/carry ability of the bag, individual dividers for all 14 clubs, ample storage space, carrying comfort, and nice light weight.  Some have complained about the lack of hooks for securing towels or umbrellas, the dividers (not all are full length), and the fat appearance of the bag.
My rating:  4.7/5

7. TaylorMade Purelite Stand Bag

Price and where to buy:  $119.00 USD with free shipping on Amazon in most colours (see chart for link)

Features/Benefits:  This double-strap stand bag weighs 5.5 pounds, comes with a matching rain hood and features:taylormadePurelite

  • a 5-way top with full-length dividers and grip handles
  • seven (7) strategically placed pockets that provide ample storage; among them, an insulated cooler pocket and a velour-lined valuables pocket
  • a zip-off ball pocket for customization and embroidery
  • a towel loop and umbrella sleeve for quick and easy access
  • a 4-point shoulder strap that provides a balanced and secure fit
  • an EVA ergonomically molded hip pad for additional comfort
  • a cart-compatible base that allows for versatile usage options
  • an anti-split stand system that provides superb stability

Reception:  Ratings for this bag are very good, and arguably better than those of the 2015 model.  It has 4.5/5 stars both on Amazon, with over 52 customer reviews, and on the Dick’s Sporting Goods website.  People have praised the distribution of the weight for carrying, light weight, good durability, ease of use (stand legs), accessibility of pockets, and the amount of storage space for all the essentials.  Some people would have liked more pockets and better placement of them.  Others found it a bit difficult to get clubs into the slots.
My rating:  4.6/5

8. Sun Mountain C-130S Hybrid Stand Bag (2015)

Price and where to buy:  Starts at $159.99 USD & eligible free shipping on Amazon (depends on colour, see chart for link)

Features/Benefits:  This single-strap nylon stand bag weighs 5.8 pounds and includes a “coordinating” rainhood.  The bag is primarily designed for use on a cart, but it includes a stand system intended for use on the driving range.  Features include:sunC130S

  • an 11-inch top that has 14 individual, full-length dividers
  • a locking system for the stand legs
  • four integrated lift-assist handles, including one built in to the lower pocket
  • eight pockets; among them, two velour-lined valuables pockets (one sized for a rangefinder) and a pocket for beverages
  • a cart strap pass-through that allows complete access to pockets when the bag is on a cart
  • E-Z Grip zipper pulls

Reception:  This quality bag has earned very good ratings overall.  On Amazon, it’s currently the #6 best selling stand bag at 4.3/5 stars.  It also has a 4.8/5 star rating on the Dick’s Sporting Goods website.  Customers generally enjoy the light yet sturdy construction (legs, body, zippers, etc.), the unimpeded individual full-length dividers, ample storage space and other benefits that are only really found on cart bags.  Note that the bag is designed to stand on the range and not necessarily through 18 holes, so if you’re looking for a “full-on” stand bag you may want to look at other options.
My rating:  4.6/5

——————————————————————————————————–

All of the above stand bags are excellent in their respective price ranges, and their quality has been tested and proven.  Which one is best for you depends on your budget, your desired features, your aesthetic preference and your brand preference (if you have one).  Also, you don’t need to just take my word for it; I would recommend clicking through one of the links above to read the customer reviews on any bag you might be interested in.

If you’re willing to spend a bit more money for something with more/better features and a higher build quality, you should get something like the OGIO Grom or the Titleist 14-Way.  In general, you get what you pay for.  For something ultra light, the Nike Sport Lite is an awesome choice.

Note that you can get all of the stand bags mentioned above, including used ones at very low prices, through this eBay page.

Good luck shopping for your stand bag!

——————————————————————————————————–

Images courtesy of:  Amazon

18 thoughts on “Best Stand Golf Bags of 2015 (Reviews)

  1. Ananomyx

    hello, I golfed in my past during high-school, but recently have not had time. I would love to get back into golfing again soon and personally prefer a lighter bag over any other. The Nike Sport Lite would be my personal favorite, I actually think I had one similar in the past. Great Site:)

    Reply
    1. Paul Post author

      Thanks. The Nike Sport Lite, as you might glean from the name, is super light weight. It’s a really great bag. When you’re in the market for a stand bag, be sure to revisit this page and look over all the options!

      Reply
  2. Justin

    Hi, I’m looking to get into golfing in the near future and I’m looking to invest in a good bag to start with. I just want one that won’t hurt my back much since I’ve injured it a few times, so I’m looking at some lighter bags because of that. Which bag would you consider to be your favorite?

    Reply
    1. Paul Post author

      Well, a few excellent lightweight choices are the Nike Sport Lite (4 lbs) and also the Callaway bags I mention in the list (both 5.2 lbs). The Callaway Hyper-Lite, in particular, has a mesh padding that supports the lower back. I haven’t really had any severe back problems myself so it’s hard for me to confidently make recommendations, but I think that as long as you adjust and wear the straps properly you shouldn’t have any comfort issues. None of the bags included in my list are over 7 pounds, so make of that what you will. Good luck with your decision!

      Reply
  3. Mark

    I’m not the best at golf, but your review structure really helps out somebody who isn’t sure what stand bag to get. I liked how you quickly listed strengths and weaknesses towards the beginning, but got more detailed later.

    It seems like they really do range in price, so it’s good you reviewed both lower end and higher end bags. What would be your recommendation for the best cheaper bag in your reviews?

    Reply
    1. Paul Post author

      Thanks, and glad you like the layout. As for the price, you’ll find that most full stand bags (for adults) are in the 100-dollar range. I’ll assume “cheaper”, relatively speaking, is something under $140. In that case, I rated the Nike Air Sport stand bag the highest. It does provide fantastic value for the money, as I mentioned in the review.

      Reply
  4. Jamie

    This is an incredible review Paul! Very much appreciated! I’ve found a TONNE of information and guidance here!
    You’ve been very thorough in comparing the different bag designs and real helpful with the actual reviews.
    You’ve definitely given me a lot of advice to help me make a decision on just what bag I will go with.
    MANY thanks my friend! Jamie.

    Reply
  5. Rob

    Excellent information and vey detailed description of each bag. I will need a bit more time to review all of the info. But when I am ready to make a decision I will defo be back to your site. For me light weight is the main factor so one of the Nike ones which look close to $100 are the way to go. Perhaps you could also recommend best rubber arm bands for all the times I end up in the water hazards?? lol.

    Reply
    1. Paul Post author

      I appreciate that Rob. Weight can definitely make a difference when it comes to walking 18 holes; none of these bags are “heavy” per se, but obviously some are lighter than others. With less weight you often sacrifice some durability and storage space, but the importance of this depends on your priorities of course. Also keep in mind that you can return bags you find too heavy even if they’re bought online.

      Reply
  6. William "Nuggie" Nugent

    this is a good side by side visual review of some of the most popular golf bags. I appreciate your use of graphs to compare the different bags. What is your recommendation. Do you carry a certain bag or bags? Thank you for the time and effort that you are putting in.

    Reply
    1. Paul Post author

      Thanks for the comment. I get that question a lot, and my answer is more or less the same: it depends entirely on your budget, your priorities and your preferences. The bags listed are all excellent, but I guess you could say the #1 stand bag (the OGIO) would be my personal top pick. I would recommend choosing a bag you like from the list (or not, if you prefer) based on your budget, and that’s all. It doesn’t have to be too complicated.

      Reply
  7. Diana

    All these bags seem pretty durable and stylish; but I think my pick would probably be the Taylormade Purelite. I like how there’s a selection of colors to choose from and a separate compartment for golf balls. This looks like a great contender for my cousin’s Christmas gift. Plus you can’t go bad with free Amazon shipping.

    Diana

    Reply
    1. Paul Post author

      It’s definitely an excellent golf bag, Diana. Some TaylorMade bags I would argue aren’t so great, but the Purelite isn’t one of them. Thanks for stopping by and good luck with your shopping.

      Reply
  8. Kedanieh

    Hey there,

    I took a look through your buying guide here and I must say this is very helpful. I liked how it gave me an insight of what the different types of bags are, the price range and not only your review but Amazon’s and others as well. I also like that you have a lot of content for the products. I do have a decision to make. I will let you know if I need anything. Thanks a bunch.

    Reply
  9. jena1

    My dad has just started golfing again after taking a break for several years. He had a back injury and has to be very careful. Do you have any recommendations for someone with a sensitive back? I was thinking of the callaway fusion 14 because you said it is sturdy but also lightweight. And as you know, fathers day is around the corner. I want to get him the best gift/

    Reply
    1. Paul Post author

      Yes Jena, the most I could say would be for him to go with something lightweight. The Fusion bag would be an awesome Father’s Day gift. Good luck. I’ll be happy to help if you have any more questions.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


*