2015 Franklin Templeton Shootout Tournament Roundup

Golfstead is reader-supported. When you buy through links on the site, we may earn an affiliate commission at no extra cost to you. Our affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network and Amazon Associates.

The final leaderboard for the 2015 Franklin Templeton Shootout at Tiburón Golf Club in Naples, Italy is in.  Jason Dufner & Brandt Snedeker won by two strokes over runner-up pair Harris English & Matt Kuchar with an 11-under score.  Below is the tournament leaderboard:snedeker-dufner-FT

(1) Jason Dufner & Brandt Snedeker (-30)
(2) Harris English & Matt Kuchar (-28)
(3) Daniel Berger & Charley Hoffman (-27)
(4) Billy Horschel & Hunter Mahan (-25)
(5) Cameron Tringale & Camilo Villegas (-21)
(6) Graeme McDowell & Gary Woodland (-20)
(T7) Sean O’Hair & Mike Weir (-19)
(T7) Retief Goosen & Danny Lee (-19)
(9) Kenny Perry & Steve Stricker (-18)
(T10) Charles Howell III & Rory Sabbatini (-17)
(T10) Zach Johnson & Patrick Rodgers (-17)
(12) J.B. Holmes & Patrick Reed (-16)

Here are my thoughts and a few statistics on the champion pair and some notable pairs on the leaderboard:

Winners: Jason Dufner & Brandt Snedeker (-30) – This is Dufner’s first professional golf win (albeit not individual) since the 2013 PGA Championship, and it’s Snedeker’s first since the Pebble Beach National Pro-Am back in February.  Snedeker hadn’t played particularly well this season up to this point, with two missed cuts (RSM and Shriners) and a T17 (Frys) in the 15-16 season; Dufner’s finished T9 at the RSM in November.  Whether they gelled well together or both just happened to be on their game this week, it all worked out.

Scores:  -11 (R1 Scramble), -8 (R2 Modified Alternate Shot), -11 (Better Ball).  30-under.  Each received $385,000 in prize money.

Harris English & Matt Kuchar (-28) – Kuchar’s last professional golf win came at the 2015 Fiji International in October, while English last won back in 2013 at the OHL Classic at Mayakoba.  The Kuchar/English team has proven to be formidable — they won the FT Shootout in 2013 and finished runner-up in 2014.  Kuchar’s best finish in the 15-16 Tour season is currently a 14 at the Hero World Challenge (small field).  English didn’t have any noteworthy finishes in tournaments prior to this event.

Scores:  -14 (R1 Scramble), -5 (R2 Modified Alternate Shot), -9 (Better Ball).  28-under.  Each received $242,500 in prize money.

Daniel Berger & Charley Hoffman (-27) – Berger doesn’t yet have any professional wins; arguably the closest he got was losing in a playoff to Pádraig Harrington at the 2015 Honda Classic.  Hoffman has several Tour wins under his belt, his most recent being the 2014 OHL Classic at Mayakoba.  Berger has finished no better than T11 this 15-16 Tour season (at the WGC-HSBC Champions in November).  Hoffman missed the cut in his only two 15-16 Tour starts so far.

Scores:  -12 (R1 Scramble), -8 (R2 Modified Alternate Shot), -7 (Better Ball).  27-under.  Each received $145,000 in prize money.

J.B. Holmes & Patrick Reed (-16) – These are two players who have both had tremendous success since 2013, with Reed winning four events (including a WGC) and Holmes winning two (2014 Wells Fargo and 2015 Shell Houston).  Also, Reed did finish second alone at the Hero World Challenge just last week.  For those reasons, some might be a little surprised at their last place finish.  Perhaps they just didn’t complement each other, or perhaps neither of them really played all that well.  Either way, I’m sure it’s a week both of them would like to forget.

Scores:  -11 (R1 Scramble), -3 (R2 Modified Alternate Shot), -2 (Better Ball).  16-under.  Each received $72,500 in prize money.

Have any congratulations for Jason/Brandt, or any other thoughts about the 2015 Franklin Templeton Shootout? Discuss in the comments below!

Images attributed to:  Keith Allison (Dufner / Snedeker)
Share this:

Leave a Reply